The term of office of the present National Executive comes to an end on the 31st December, 2011. The new office bearers for 2012 & 2013 have been elected at the Extraordinary General Meeting held in Ranchi on 9th December, 2011. Since the term of the present National Executive is coming to a close and there will be change of guard with the dawn of the New Year, it is time to take stock of the position.

The Federation has been taking all efforts to achieve the objective of providing purposeful forum for the Tax Professionals in the country to come together in matters of public importance, and of concern and relevance to the Tax Payers and the State. The Tax Professionals act as a bridge between the State and the Tax Payer to secure a stable, effective and growth oriented tax system which is necessary for sustained economic development. This can be achieved only by unstinted tax compliance on the part of the citizen. These twin objectives can be achieved only by a proactive approach by the Tax Professionals and positive response from the Government. This necessarily requires Professional Bodies like the Federation to adopt a responsive posture which is possible only by total participation of the member.

I congratulate Shri Harish N. Motiwalla, Chairman, Western Zone, Prof. Narayan Pasad Jain, Chairman, Eastern Zone, Shri P.M. Chopra, Chairman, Central Zone, Shri P.V.S.S. Prasad, Chairman, Southern Zone and Ms. Premlata Bansal, Chairperson, Northern Zone for making sincere efforts for the various progresses. I place on record my sincere thanks to Shri P.C. Joshi, Chairman, Sales Tax Representation Committee, Shri S.R. Wadhwa, Charman, Direct Taxes Representation Committee, Shri Mukul Gupta, Chairman, Excise/Service Tax & Central GST Representation Committee, Shri U.M. Loonawat, Chairman, Finance Committee, Shri J.D. Nankani, Chairman, International Tour & Refresher Course Committee, Shri Sanjay Kumar, Membership Development Committee, Shri Vinayak Patkar, Directory Committee, Shri Mitesh Kotecha, Chairman Journal Committee, Shri Pranay Marfatia, Chairman, Education Committee, Shri Kishor Vanjara, Chairman, Law & Representation Committee. The Federation has achieved all-round success in different parts of the country only on account of able leadership of Chairmen who have contributed a lot for achieving the goals of the Federation and to whom I congratulate.

When the present Executive Committee took over the charge on 1st January, 2010 we vowed to cross the magic figure of 5,000 Life Membership and I am proud to announce that during our tenure of two years, my Executive Committee members put all out efforts to enroll maximum number of Life Members and with their hard work we have, as on 9th December, 2011, 5,034 Life Members of the Federation. To highlight the achievements of the present Executive, I place of record that during our tenure we have organized at different parts of the country 13 Two Day Tax Conferences, 24 One Day Workshop or Budget Seminars. Foundation Day celebrations took place all over the country in the year 2010 & 2011 as well and I am pleased to inform that in the 35th Foundation Day celebrated in Delhi maximum number of delegates i.e. around 700 delegates attended the Conference which is a record and highest number in itself. 7th & 8th Nani Palkhivala Tax Moot Court Competitions were successfully organized in the year 2010 & 2011. Two Day Conference was organized by AOTCA at Sydney, Australia on 25th & 26th November, 2010 where Hon’ble Mr. Justice Rajesh Bindal, Judge, Punjab & Haryana High Court attended. In the year 2011, I also have the privilege to attend the Conference organized by AOTCA at Bali, Indonesia from 16th November, to 19th November, 2011 along with my other colleagues like Mr. P. C. Joshi, Dr. K. Shivaram, Mr. Harish N. Motiwalla, Mr. J D. Nankani. We have organized 16th National Convention 2011 at Ranchi along with Two Day Seminar and the arrangements made by them were highly appreciated for which I congratulate to Shri S.K. Poddar, National President – Elect and Shri N.P. Jain, Secretary General–Elect. We are also organising 1 Day Seminar at Thiruvananthapuram on 17th December, 2011.

I place on record my sincere thanks to all the Past President, viz. Shri P.C. Joshi, Shri N.M. Ranka, Dr. K. Shivaram, Shri Bharatji Agrawal and others who contributed and helped us in achieving the objectives of the Federation and guiding the Executive from time to time. I am also thankful to the Dy. President Shri S.K. Poddar, all the Vice-Presidents, Secretary General Shri J.K. Ranka, Treasurer Ms. Nikita Badheka and Jt. Secretaries for giving full co-operation in discharging our responsibilities in an efficient manner. Dr. K. Shivaram, Editor-in-Chief, AIFTP Journal Committee & Chairman, Palkhivala Foundation & Moot Court Committee deserves special thanks for coming out with an idea of printing the AIFTP Journal with colourful photos and with his dedicated efforts the Journals gaining popularity not only amongst the members of the Federation, but in the legal fraternity too. I hope that Dr. Shivaram will continue his cooperation in bringing out the Journal for the benefits of the tax fraternity by sparing his valuable time for AIFTP Journal and AIFTP Times. I am also thankful to the Research Team for compiling the judgments for printing in AIFTP Journal.

During the tenure of the present Executive Committee, fullest co-operation has been provided by Mr. Ravi and other staff members at Head Office of the Federation at Mumbai. My good wishes and thanks to them also.

I am sorry to mention that the Federation has lost its Founder President Late Shri N.C. Mehta on 30th October, 2011 who was a very simple, sincere, devoted, dedicated, determined, courteous person. The Federation will never forget his contribution in growing the seed of the present wide organisation which is spreading day by day. We have also lost our dedicated Past President Late Shri V. Ramachandran on 14th November, 2011. Late Shri M.D. Sodani, Vice-President – CZ had also gone his heavenly abode in May, 2011. We pray to Almighty to grant peace to the departed souls and courage to the bereaved families to bear this irreparable loss.

In the end, I wish all the Members and their families a Merry Christmas and a VERY HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR.

With good wishes,

National President